Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:02 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Remove black mica schist from emeralds
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:04 am 
Established Member

Hello everyone.

I am new to this and i am not sure if i posted in the correct location, so if i didnt i apologize.

I am looking for a way to fast remove black mica schist from emeralds. The origin of the emeralds is Nova Era - Brazil, and it is usually craved in this schist, easily removed by hand, problem is it takes too long.

I am here to ask if anyone know about any tecnology to accelerate this process, either chemical or mechanical.

I have heard about a method using a simple device, wich is originaly used to remove stains from clothes and carperts. It produces a water beam almost invisible to the eye, at high speed, the guy that told me this said this water beam can cut a hole into your fingernail, thats how strong it is. I heard that this beam can cut though the schist easily, almost melting it, and without any harm to the emerald.

Any help is welcome, thanks alot and wish everyone the best.

Post subject: Re: Remove black mica schist from emeralds
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:43 am 
Site Admin

IMO you should leave the mica in place. Always nice with a natural specimen. If you wish to remove it anyway I'm not sure if it is possible in any other way than mechanically.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:19 am 
Established Member

Thanks alot for your reply.

If anyone have any info on how to remove the mica without using mechanical methods, please advise.

Thanks alot:)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:17 am 
Valued Contributor

I know that certian acids will desolve the matrix holding Colombian emeralds (calcite/marble?) without harming the emerald. There is possibly something similar that works on Brazillian matrix. I would not use the waterjet device you mentioned.