Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:08 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: aquamarine
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 3:02 am 
Established Member

well, i hope this is the right place.
i'm new to jewellery in general. and my birthstone is aquamarine and let me tell you its hard to find the exact colour i want. aka not so washed out off coloured "diamond".
my friend has inherited her family heirloom and it turns out to be this beautiful shade of aquamarine. and was appraised for 4000$!!! so i decided to start my own with an aquamarine. however, i want my ring to be custom made. so i need your help!!!
1. what is the most expensive aquamarine cut?
2. what coloured aquamarine will not look so washed out against white gold & diamonds?
3. any recommendations on where i can purchase loose aquamarine stones in toronto or london ontario??

*mods please move if in the wrong place*

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 10:32 am 
Gemology Online Veteran

jennzy,

Many folks consider Santa Maria (Brazil) aqua to be the best color. Lately there have been finds in Africa of that and darker blue aqua, especially in the smaller sizes.

I don't know about stores in Toronto or London (U of Waterloo, right?) but you can see some good colored stones for sale online, including here:

http://www.ajsgems.com/catalog/aquamarine.aspx

and, for African stones, here:

http://www.africagems.com/aquamarine.html

Strange as it may seem, some aqua has the problem of looking just like some colors of blue topaz, which may or may not be a problem to you.

To my eye, the new African stones and true Santa Maria color don't have this problem.

As in most types of gemstones with the light saturation that aqua generally has, often large stones have better color appearance than smaller stones. It can be harder to find small stones with good color than medium or large.