Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:47 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: IGS diploma to show customer
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:02 am 
Valued Contributor

Hi,

I got my formal colored stones education in Russia. I have a Russian gemological diploma.

Now I am in Canada and I need some kind of diploma in English to show customers for the purpose of issuing certificates for the stones I sell and for indenting and grading of customers stones as an additional service. The education with GIA will take me few years because it's very expensive. I already have skills and knowledge, and I could easily pass an IGS exam.

I want to offer gemstones grading and identification services, jewelry appraisal services and jewelry insurance services.

So do you think IGS diploma is fine for that?

Post subject: Re: IGS diploma to show customer
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 12:19 pm 
Site Admin

Frankly not.
While IGS offers a valid program, the industry really only recognizes GIA and GemA.
The Russian diploma is worth more, in my opinion. Russian education is superlative.
Can you ask the institution which generated the diploma to generate it again in English?

And, when you feel solid enough financially to add more letters after your name, I'd actually suggest enrolling in GIA. Their new correspondence course is excellent.

Sidebar......if one pays for education, they should expect to be educated. Not simply pass a final exam without having to read the course material. Right?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 9:39 pm 
Valued Contributor

You are right, Barbra, but I have seen what you are mentioning. It was not in gemology, though. As education is very commercial these days, there is a pressure on passing as many students as possible. :(

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 9:44 pm 

Just in my personal preferences, an IGS diploma would make me less likely to buy.