Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:56 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Heating Moissanite
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:23 am 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Heating moissanite to get back origin color after cutting

I am new in this so I have not work experience and I am looking for the best answer or your ideas about heating moissanite

Have anyone on this forum , heated moissanite before?
I am thinking of investing for proper lap and compound to cut rough moissanite and I will but a couple small pieces of rough

But I was told by expert that they change color after cutting to dark
So I thought the stone needed to heat to get back actual or origin color as it is industry acceptable process . I did search China market to understand or get an idea how to heat them to get back the original color but no one responded me with the solution so

If anyone in here have work experience with moissanite please let me know

And if I find the answer with the china manufacturer I will post it here for those who are interested to learn a bout it

Kindly appreciated

Post subject: Re: Heating Moissanite
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 6:40 am 

Looking to resurrect this thread.

I've cut a 2.5 ct square cut moissanite following a faceting diagram I optimized for the high RI using Gem Ray. The material originated from an optical SiC wafer and was clear/white in color. After cutting, taking care to minimize heating to the greatest extent possible, I now have a champagne colored stone, as expected.

Unable to find any real information, save for bits and pieces from published patents and forum speculation, I attempted heat treating at 850C overnight in an Argon atmosphere. This resulted in deposits damaging the surface polish, meaning I had to go back and refinish the final polish of the stone.