Time to catch up on reading, lapidary projects and binge watching TV. Stay home. Stay well.
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu May 28, 2020 8:44 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Let's talk antiquarian gem books?
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 7:23 am 
Gemology Online Veteran

I have been collecting gem/jewelry books for two decades. This forum seems like the ideal place for bibliophiles interested in gem/gemology/jewelry books to congregate. I know several very knowledgable collectors whose comments I would love to see here.

Are there members of GO who are interested?

Let me kick things off with a recommendation of a 2006 paper submitted to The American Geological Society by Annibale Mottana, Italian gemology during the Renaissance:
A step toward modern mineralogy.
The subject is gemology of the Italian Renaissance. What it really is is a illustrated bibliography and critique of books published during that period in Italy. https://www.academia.edu/7868291/Italia ... TRODUCTION

TO BEGIN:

For anyone seeking to start or enhance their collection: John Sinkankas' Gemology, An Annotated Bibliography http://www.amazon.com/Gemology-Annotate ... 0810826526. Not only is it an important addition to any collection, it is an absolutely necessary guide to building a collection.

IS ANYONE INTERESTED? DON'T BE SHY, RESPOND.

RWW

Post subject: Re: Let's talk antiquarian gem books?
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 8:55 pm 
Gemology Online Veteran