January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 12:43 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: In need of Help Identifying...
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:11 pm 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Hi, I was looking through an old parcel of stones I had from years back and I came across this stone, I believe that it's an Alexandrite, But I am not an expert. It weights about 1.5 cts and is almost flawless, It's almost hard to believe, thats why I am in need of help identifying. The color is greenish blue and is about 60-75% color change, cause it doesn't really turn pinkish purple until you hold a lighter or flame under it, the flash on the camera is the best to see the color change! Can anyone please help me, Below is a picture of the green color with no flash and the pink with the camera flash. Links to photo Below :mrgreen:

Post subject: Re: In need of Help Identifying...
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:33 pm 
Site Admin

The ability to identify gems is neither simple, nor inexpensive.
One cannot positively identify gems from looking at a picture.
Optical tests are required and must be conducted by those with proper training and instruments.

Many stones appear to change color from greenish to reddish. They include, but are not limited to glass, fluorite, garnet, plagioclase (andesine/labradorite), synthetic sapphires, natural sapphires, synthetic alexandrite, natural alexandrite.

You need to have a professional gemologist optically test it for positive identification.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:03 pm 

Barbra is right.. you cant do much from just a photo.
However, you can gain some useful info by just playing around with it.
Check out the most likely possibility, which is an "alexandrite" type synthetic corundum.
Find amongst your collection of gems a known synthetic corundum and compare the optical properties.