January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:11 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Help With Pearl Necklace Please
PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 11:32 pm 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

I just bought this 3 strand "pearl" necklace for $30AUD and I am no pearl expert. They are stunning even if they do end up being fake although they do need a good clean but I do not want to clean them until I know if they are real or fake. Also hoping I someone might be able to tell me the period these may have been made around please.

I did a little bit of google searching to see if I could identify myself if they are real or fake but I am still unsure as from everything I have read the fakes can look and feel quite genuine. They are cold to touch and do have a decent weight to them, when I do rub two lightly together they do produce a fine powder and they are gritty against my teeth.

I have tried to capture pics as best as I can. The clasp has a mark on the back "STERLING GERMANY" and appears to have marcasites on the front. Shortest strand is approximately 45cm long and have shown size of the graduated "pearls" in pics.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments:
IMG_0031 (2).JPG
IMG_0031 (2).JPG [ 1.01 MiB | Viewed 2866 times ]
IMG_0030 (2).JPG
IMG_0030 (2).JPG [ 1.05 MiB | Viewed 2866 times ]
IMG_0020 (2).JPG
IMG_0020 (2).JPG [ 637.4 KiB | Viewed 2866 times ]
IMG_0021 (2).JPG
IMG_0021 (2).JPG [ 832.33 KiB | Viewed 2866 times ]
IMG_0011.JPG
IMG_0011.JPG [ 2.91 MiB | Viewed 2866 times ]
 Post subject: Re: Help With Pearl Necklace Please
PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2021 12:12 pm 
Site Admin

Very cool and timelessly posh!

The individual pearls have a waffled texture which I have never seen on imitation pearls.
The gritty feel on the teeth could only be replicated with imitation "shell" pearls.