January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:04 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: New student here (thinking about GG program)
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 6:33 pm 
Established Member

Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I’m new to the boards and to studying gemology.

I recently completed the three free courses offered by the GIA and would like to go for the GG program. I admit I have little real life experience in this subject but have found it very interesting to learn about personally.

Any words of advice for new GG students or for Distance Education learners (especially during these rollercoaster times)? What have you done after graduating?

Thank you.

Post subject: Re: New student here (thinking about GG program)
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 9:18 pm 
Established Member

I’m in a similar spot to you, so interested to also hear.

Currently I’ve been slowly acquiring various gemology tools, doing a lot of online reading, watching the educational videos on the GIA and Gem-A YouTube channels, and practicing my identification skills with various gemstones.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:02 pm 
Site Admin

I think it is a function of what you want to do within the industry in the future.
The GIA is very expensive (in my world) and if you want to work in a jewelry store, be aware GGs are paid peanuts.

If you wish to acquire solid information I recommend The Gemmologist's Handbook. For $49.95 it's absolutely fabulous.
You'll thank me if you download this!

If you have some gemological tools, (I think JackTrick is already on top of this) a great reference is Gemology Tools Professional. I use it every day!

With the quarantine and the pandemic most of us have a bit of extra time to hit the books. Therefore, the GIA Distance Learning would be an appropriate option.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 2:00 pm