January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:18 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: What I would like to see in the Loupe
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:18 pm 
Valued Contributor

I received the latest issue of the Loupe today. Loved the coverage on Dalan Hargrave’s lecture at GIA on Gemstones. His 45.35 ct “Tuplip” ametrine which he donated to GIA is absolutely fabulous.

They also say the new Alumni will be a no fee organization. I am a little concerned that might open the up the opportunity for another industry buy in similar to the lab incident. Someone will have to help fund the alumni organization. If industries do it alone, then alumni may start seeing getting information tailored around one or two largest contributors services.

Anyway, being an older student I noticed something today about the Loupe, and then by looking in the last year and a half of Loupe issues I had handy, I noticed it was a theme in them. They always have things showing the success of young , attractive students who have found fantastic jobs with industry leaders right after graduation. Most of these example students appear not to have had any real association with the jewelry industry, or at least its not mentioned. I think that is wonder as we all know how hard it is to get into this business unless you’re related to someone in the industry or have the finances and skills to go out on your own.

The other theme I noticed was that there where only a couple articles on older students of GIA. And most of the ones I scanned over today appear to all have previous connections to the jewelry industry. Either married to, related to, or already working for, a jeweler.