January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:24 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Overwhelmed with info, please help identify!
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 12:36 pm 
Established Member

Can anyone help identify? I’m new to this this and am trying to identify a stone for the first time. For three days I feel like a I’ve researched and only gone deeper into a black hole of information! From my understanding on how to identify a rock, these are the characteristics of my stone.

Found in a Texas river along a pooled area with other river rocks
Blackish green in color
Opaque upon initial inspection but translucent with back light
The small side of it is glassy, vitreous? And the other side looks greasy?
Hardness- fingernail- pass, copper 1961 coin- pass, nail- pass, glass-pass, masonry bit- fail so 7-8.5?
Pics below. Thank you your time in any help you can provide!

Attachments:
File comment: Greasy side dry
0E16499B-154A-4B89-B813-564401B13740.jpeg
0E16499B-154A-4B89-B813-564401B13740.jpeg [ 2.04 MiB | Viewed 2208 times ]
File comment: “Greasy” side when wet in daylight
6B0171E0-DCF2-42EA-888E-8F227267779E.jpeg
6B0171E0-DCF2-42EA-888E-8F227267779E.jpeg [ 2.71 MiB | Viewed 2208 times ]
File comment: Sunlight behind
10932B45-FADC-407B-9358-532479E3B48A.jpeg
10932B45-FADC-407B-9358-532479E3B48A.jpeg [ 2.08 MiB | Viewed 2208 times ]
File comment: With flashlight behind
8DAB8FA1-C4A3-4F9B-A331-F79DA210D8FD.jpeg
8DAB8FA1-C4A3-4F9B-A331-F79DA210D8FD.jpeg [ 1.79 MiB | Viewed 2208 times ]
 Post subject: Re: Overwhelmed with info, please help identify!
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 2:59 pm 
Gold Member

Most likely glass. Glass is commonly found in rivers, on beaches, and mixed with other natural stones almost anywhere.

If the glass is the result of industrial waste it is called slag.