January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:03 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Scottish Beryl question
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:11 pm 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Hi Folks, I don't know whether I've come to right place or not but let's see.
I am an amateur mineral/gem collector and I found six examples of what I believed to be Beryl in the Cairngorms in Scotland this summer. Beryl is present here but it is extremely rare and people can spend a lifetime looking and never find it. It has taken me countless trips over 20yrs but eventually, I got lucky.
Now then, I thought one of my six might have been good enough to cut & polish so I took it to the Scottish Lapidary & Mineral Club in Edinburgh and they kindly, successfully managed to turn it into a cabouchon and also set it in in a handcrafted Silver pendant for my wife's birthday. Apparently, it is the only Beryl Aquamarine that they have ever cut from Scotland; they have 100 members & have been going for nearly 50 years. Going some then.
However, once it has now been set and finished and the present was given, the stone appears to change colour depending on whether it is in daylight or artificial light. Outside, it is distinctly blueish and indoors it turns to a more greenish colour. This has got me thinking whether it may actually be a Chrysoberyl and not Beryl Aquamarine; as I cannot find any reference to Aquamarine changing colour?
Can you help me determine whether it is or isn't one or the other - how can I actually identify what it is?

Many thanks
Tony

Attachments:
File comment: In Daylight
In daylight.jpg
In daylight.jpg [ 61.92 KiB | Viewed 3972 times ]
File comment: In artificial light
Artificial light 2.jpg
Artificial light 2.jpg [ 30.52 KiB | Viewed 3972 times ]
File comment: Before cut
Before-cut.jpg