January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 10:11 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: lighting for photographing/evaluating color on Imp Topaz
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:55 pm 

Hello I tried posting in another part of the site but it wasn't the right one, hope this is. I am new to gemology and have a hobbyist's interest. I have an Imperial Topaz that I have been trying to photograph and evaluate color on. My question as the title implies is two-fold first what is a good beginning lighting setup for photos and second when looking at the stone what lighting is optimum to evaluate color? I took a few shots with less than satisfying results using my Canon Rebel with 28-300 aspherical macro lens and small light-box with fluorescent squiggle bulbs on either side and then with just an incandescent spot overhead, again with less than stellar results. Any help for this "newbie" would be GREATLY appreciated!

Admin edit:Information from a previous post in the wrong category:
Quote:
Hello, I am new here and gemology in general so please excuse my newbie questions. I inherited a large Imperial Topaz and would like to know what type of lighting is used when evaluating color and photographing to best effect. I took some shots with my Canon Rebel and
Tamron 28-300 aspherical macro lens with very unsatisfactory results. I used a small lightbox with a squiggle fluorescent diffused on each side and with just an incandescent spot overhead. I was unimpressed with my results any suggestions?

Attachments:
IMG_1708.jpg
IMG_1708.jpg [ 14.84 KiB | Viewed 1069 times ]
 Post subject: Re: lighting for photographing/evaluating color on Imp Topaz
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:04 pm