Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:50 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Diamond Grading course
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 4:06 pm 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Hi

As you can guess by my name, I am a newbie in the diamonds world!

I am starting a new business where I will be having customised jewellery made abroad for clients and it will mostly involve melee/star diamonds or the -2 sieve diamonds. I have managed to find a few suppliers in India for the diamonds and I am ordering 1 carat packs of their VS1/VS2 star diamonds as samples just to get an idea of their quality. I will show these samples to an experienced jeweller in my city who will assess their clarity/colour and the reason for this is because I am aware that a lot of wholesalers may advertise melee parcels as VS then send out 50% Vs and 50% Si, or advertise F-G colour then ship out G-H colour diamonds etc.

I have found a GIA diamond grading course in the UK which runs for 5 days and costs around $1700. It includes around 16 hours of practicals (with a practical test at the end) however the diamonds which we will be practising to grade will only be a minimum of 0.30 carats so this will be completely different to what I will need to assess (melee diamonds) however I have been told that the principles are mostly the same and I will be able to go off and grade my own melee diamonds in the future. However, I have also read online that assessing melee diamonds is an extremely difficult task even for experienced jewellers. Does anyone have any opinions about this?

I just don't want to risk paying $1700 for a course and $500 in hotel costs to learn how to grade larger size diamonds for a week, then realising that I am not better off in terms of trying to assess/grade my melee diamond packages that I will be purchasing.

Post subject: Re: Diamond Grading course