January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:38 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Meteorite from the Sikote Alin fall in Russia in 1947
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 8:57 pm 
Site Admin

Over Mother's Day Brunch I was treated to an awesome Show and Tell from Linda and Norman Mahan, whom I first met when i was a sophomore in college. They owned a jewelry store across the street from where I worked and I spent every lunch break at their shop being a nuisance.

Now, is this pendant "out of this world" or what?
This is a shard from the Sikote Alin Meteorite which hit the planet 69 years ago and was (and is) the largest meteorite to strike Earth which was actually witnessed by humans.

Wiki wrote:
At around 10:30 on 12 February 1947, eyewitnesses in the Sikhote-Alin Mountains, Primorye, Soviet Union, observed a large bolide brighter than the Sun that came out of the north and descended at an angle of about 41 degrees. The bright flash and the deafening sound of the fall were observed for 300 kilometres (190 mi) around the point of impact not far from Luchegorsk and approximately 440 km (270 mi) northeast of Vladivostok. A smoke trail, estimated at 32 km (20 mi) long, remained in the sky for several hours.

As the meteor, traveling at a speed of about 14 km/s (8.7 mi/s), entered the atmosphere, it began to break apart, and the fragments fell together. At an altitude of about 5.6 km (3.5 mi), the largest mass apparently broke up in a violent explosion called an air burst.

I found an original film documenting the meteor on YouTube. It is in Russian with English subtitles. Endearing period piece, especially the musical soundtrack which seems inspired by Walt Disney and the hand-held camera.

Post subject: Re: Meteorite from the Sikote Alin fall in Russia in 1947
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 10:16 pm