January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:55 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Wanting to build a 2.25 carat diamond ring for future wife
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:37 pm 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Hello I am looking for information and guidance. I am a complete newbie but I thought I would embark on this adventure to see where it takes me.

The idea is I would like to build my fiance a ring. I have the idea of what the ring will look like but I need guidance and help on acquiring the stones. The center stone is a round diamond around 2 carats but the width is more important which I would want it to be 8mm + The diamond should not be to tall since I want it set lower not to snag and for looks. The ring is going to be a halo style and I could post pictures of a similar design id need be. Im hoping the finished product will be D-F and no lower than VS2. If I buy a rough diamond could anyone recommend someone who could cut this for me? Would someone be able to tell me what to expect for the cost to have this cut?

I want to build this from scratch and I am looking at buying rough diamonds but honestly have no idea what to be aware of or ho to stay away from. Quality and look is obviously important and I am also hoping to save a little money by taking this on. I understand there will be certain risks but maybe the experienced could help me avoid any costly mistakes.

This is very important to me that I really try to build this on my own and it would mean the world to her if I could pull this off with help from kind people here.

Would anyone care to help point me in the right direction? If so please respond here or PM me (if thats a option here)

Thank you,

Terry

Post subject: Re: Wanting to build a 2.25 carat diamond ring for future w
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 3:53 pm 
Gold Member