January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 6:47 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Authenticity of Rough Diamonds
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 9:20 pm 
Hello all,
I'm a newbie in this field.Currently have retail experience and theoratical knowledge.I want to get into rough diamond business.

I will be in bangkok whole february for some AIGS trainings and meanwhile managed to get 5 different african sellers to come to bangkok to show their goods to me.

My plan is to check the authenticity of the stones and make sure that they are indeed rough diamonds.I will NOT buy,but merely check the authenticity of the sellers and their goods for the future purchases(after i get necessary rough trainings).Also it will be an experience for me as well.

What kind of tools that you think i will need for authentication? I read there are many topazes in the market(some cut like a rough diamond,have trigons etc).
So far i just got 10x/20x loupe and diamond selector(the one works with heat).

I'm also attaching a picture of goods offered.I have doubts about some octahedrons,although some others(makeables) looks genuine to me.

I would be happy to hear advices from experts.

Attachments:
IMG-20190123-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20190123-WA0001.jpg [ 41.46 KiB | Viewed 3149 times ]

Post subject: Re: Authenticity of Rough Diamonds
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:01 pm 
Site Admin

Buy a Gemmoraman or EXA Natural Diamond Detector:
http://www.gemmoraman.com/Products.aspx

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:08 pm 
thanks barbara.
Dont have 6700 Euros to spend at the moment.

I was more interested in more *affordable* ways.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:14 pm 
Site Admin

You could get a thermal diamond tester.

But, I don't get it. If you are dealing in thousands of dollars worth of diamonds, why would you skimp on identification.