January 24 Through February 4—TUCSON, ARIZONA: Annual show
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:04 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 24  Next
 Post subject: Another "new gem design app" thread
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:29 pm 
Valued Contributor

Hi everyone, just joined up a few days ago but I've been following this board for a while now.

It seems every couple of months, there's a new thread about writing an updated app to design gems, with awesome, long feature lists and big ideas but then the thread dies and no app comes out...

I come to you today with a different approach. First, I've already got a functional prototype, with all major technical hurdles out of the way. I wouldn't be wasting your time if I wasn't 100% confident this will see the light of day. I write software tools for a living, this is not my first project :wink:

What I'd like to discuss is establishing a minimum feature set. Part of the problem with making a new design app is you're obviously going up against GemCad/GemRay. Those represent YEARS of work so they're pretty feature-packed. To compete, you'd either have to work silently for years and pop up with a complete replacement, or work your way up to their feature set over time. You can guess that I've chosen the latter.