July 11-12:BILLINGS, MONTANA: Annual show; Billings Gem and Mineral Club; Sat. 10-5, Sun. 10-4; Free admission!
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:03 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Where are the high-end traditional faceting designs?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:33 pm 
Established Member

I've been faceting for a couple of years now, and have lots of designs(Long & Steele, Jeff Graham, Vargas, etc), but I would consider most of these "fancy" cuts. I have not seen many designs for cushion, oval or pear shapes that I keep seeing in the high-end jewelry magazines or websites like the following.

http://www.multicolour.com/detail/?/det ... &930512007

These appear to have pavilions cut with a "native" cut (lots of pavilion facets in several tiers, almost like a Portuguese cut). I understand that the overall performance is probably not as good as a brilliant cut pavilion, but frankly I am partial to "sparkly" stones and I think they look more traditional.

So the question is - are these trade secrets or are most hobby faceters interested in the newer fancy cuts?

Thanks,
Gary

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 10:27 pm 
Site Admin

All of those gems along with the "native" cuts look to me like a regular crown (Brilliant, scissor, etc) with just a step cut on the bottom.

Can't say I've ever been a fan of the step cut bottom, the pavillion angles are all over the place and it's hard to predict the internal reflection. I guess if you're using that a step cut for color (like in emeralds) it's probably OK but I just think it looks like a stone that someone slapped a few facets on the bottom to finish it.

I can also see them doing it for weight because they can have a big "belly" on the stone too and preserve weight. Again, I'm not a huge fan of cutting that style.