Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:36 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Just starting out, some beginner questions about Laps
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 11:29 pm 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Hello All,

I'm just starting out here, doing my initial research about what equipment I'm going to need, and There's a few questions about Laps that I can't seem to find answers for. I've done my search on the forum and can't seem to find anything, so hopefully they aren't too much of n00b questions.

First of all about NuBond Laps, I have read in multiple places that NuBond laps cut like 1 grit higher (e.g. 1200 grit cuts more like 3000) however nowhere has explained WHY this is. is there a specific reason for this?

Also on the topic of NuBond, are they still being manufactured? I can't seem to get to the manufacturer's web page (raytechgemprocessing.com/lapidary/diamond-products/facets-tombstone.php or even raytechgemprocessing.com) While I know they are still available through distributors, but I would hate to fall in love with how one cuts, just to not be able to get another one later down the line.

I have also seen "acrylic" laps available on a number of sites, I have access to a laser cutter, so does the Lap require any special processing/tolerances or can I just cut a 8" disk out of 1/4" acrylic and be ready to go? considering I can get 1/4" acrylic for about $8 per square foot, and save on exchange and shipping this would be very useful. (I would be using it as a master Lap, not directly for polishing)