It is with great sadness I'd like to announce Dr. Hanneman passed away on December 12, 2020. His legacy will live on forever!
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Wed Jan 20, 2021 9:11 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: New MDR-102 Questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 1:23 pm 
Established Member

I just got a smoking deal on an MDR 102. I'm completely new to this, and it came with laps and dops and even some rough to get started with. Saved a ton.

Digging through the forums here, it looks like I might need to contact an individual to update the index gear to a 96 (instead of the 64 it came with) I'll do that eventually.

The things I'm interested in, though - are:

1. How might I go about installing a digital protractor? Or is this even an option?

2. How do I determine which laps are "correct" to fit when I need to replace them? There's also a big range in price of laps - lapidary supply websites have them for ~$80, and amazon has them for ~$16 in various grits. Am I wrong in thinking that even the knock-off laps that you might get on Amazon would still be functional so long as the grit is accurate?

3. Are splash pans universal more or less? The one I've got drains out of the side instead of the bottom, and additionally it's impossible to have in while cutting the girdle, so water goes everywhere. I saw a guy on youtube have one with a removable side panel... but maybe he cut that out himself...