It is with great sadness I'd like to announce Dr. Hanneman passed away on December 12, 2020. His legacy will live on forever!
Welcome to the GemologyOnline.com Forum
A non-profit Forum for the exchange of gemological ideas
It is currently Wed Jan 20, 2021 9:25 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Interested in the hobby, greetings and questions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2020 10:19 pm 
New to the Forum or The Quiet Type

Hello!

My name is Thomas, and I am interested in getting into faceting.

A little bit about me: I got a degree in microbiology, started working in drinking/waste water treatment, moved into IT and now work at one of the leading US ISPs (boo hiss). I am married, have one son with another child on the way. I enjoy playing piano, working on my home servers, playing a bit of video games (but don't have much time anymore) - I'm a bit of a serial hobbyist. This is probably more than anyone wanted to know, but hey, sometimes you make connections with people over the strangest things.

I was browsing reddit about 6 weeks back and found a gif of a blue gem being shown back and forth, and it was mesmerizing! I started looking into how faceting is done, and stumbled across Steve Moriarty's instructional videos on Youtube. The process and result was so captivating, which kicked my interest into high gear. I've consumed so much research about the topic (ISG website, Arya's Faceting 101 videos, GemologyOnline's forum and GEM101 pages, GemologyProject diagrams, reddit's /r/ShinyPreciousGems and /r/HighQualityGemstones and /r/faceting and /r/lapidary, etc etc etc) and I have decided that i want to get into the hobby. I purchased Tom Herb's Amateur Faceting 101 Vol1 last week and finished it today - Vol2 is on the way and I'm excited to tear through that one as well. I love the idea of taking this rock that was created millions/billions of years ago, and creating something beautiful out of it.